A question from a curious new Member

Hi, I’m Goutham, I have been working on Linux for three years. So I know a little about Dennis M Ritchie, Richard M Stallman and Linus Torvalds.

Also, I support and want people to use free software products. Also would like the users to have control over a product.

Casual googling about FSF on RMS’s birthday took me to this very website.

I’m just curious about the members in here.

How did you guys come to know about FSF ?
also please explain (if you may) the impact/experience you had with Free software products.

(If a similar question is already posted pls comment the link.)

Hi Goutham,
Good to hear that you have been working on Linux for few years. As an organisation we focus on,

• Strengthening the FOSS Communities
  • Build GLUGs in Colleges and Regions around TN
  • Build projects using our Volunteer and license it appropriately
  • Share Knowledge in the form of GLUGs and Meetups

Coming to the point of our relationship with FSF,

• We are in no way associated with Free Software Foundation (FSF) or Free Software Foundation of India (FSFI) expect to share common perspectives
  • We are a part of Free Software Movement of India (FSMI)

We focus more on Communities, GLUGs, Projects, Policy level discussions related to Free Software around TN.

Feel Free to Join Us - https://fsftn.org/blog/contact/

Welcome to the community :wink: As @Balvis has correctly pointed out above, we are TamilNadu chapter for Free Software Movement of India (http://fsmi.in/#member-organisations). FSMI has presence in various states of India through it’s local chapters. One such chapter here in Tamilnadu is FSFTN. GLUGs (GNU/Linux Users Group) are the fundamental units of FSFTN.

Even though named as GLUGs, GLUGs focus is not restricted to just GNU/Linux alone but the entire ecosystem of Free Software and it’s principles.